Approved for release, 10-12-20

GOVERNORS STATE UNIVERSITY BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Human Resources Committee Minutes of the Thursday, April 30, 2020 Meeting

Note: As permitted by Illinois Governor Executive Order number 2020-07, dated March 16, 2020, the April 30, 2020 HR Committee meeting was held via Zoom.

Call to Order and Roll Call

The meeting of the Human Resources Committee of the GSU Board of Trustees for Thursday, April 30, 2020 was called to order by Chair Cevallos-Candau at 3:33pm. Roll call was taken and committee members Pedro Cevallos-Candau, Lisa Harrell, and Jim Kvedaras were in attendance.

Also in attendance:

Elaine P. Maimon, President

Mary Pat Burns, Burns Burke & Pinelli, Ltd.

W. Paul Bylaska, Vice President for Administration and Finance

Elizabeth A. Cada, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Penny Perdue, Chief of Administrative Operations and Liaison to the Board

Sanat Ranganathan, VP and General Counsel

Catherine Balthazar, Dean, College of Health and Human Services

Zion Banks, Senior Writer, Marketing and Communications

Theresa Booker, ITS

Will Davis, VP Institutional Advancement and Marketing and Communications

Kristoffer Evangelista, Chief Internal Auditor

Anne Gill, Interim Associate Vice President for Human Resources

Carlos Ferran, Faculty, College of Business

Giesela Grumbach,

Rosemary Johnsen, Associate Provost and Associate Vice President of Academic Affairs

Blaise Lukasiewicz, ITS

Rashidah Muhammad, Faculty, College of Arts and Sciences

Joan Johns Maloney,

William Kresse, Faculty, College of Business

Andrae Marak, Dean, Collee of Arts and Sciences

Heather Penn, Chief Broadcasting Engineer, DLMD

Chuck Pustz, AVP for Information Technology

Alexis Sarkisian, Special Projects Manager, University Library

Tracy Sullivan, AVP of Procurement

Catherine Tymkow, Faculty, College of Health and Human Services

In addition, the following Faculty Senate Representatives were in attendance: William Kresse and David Golland (sitting in for Alli Cipra).

Additional members of the general public also attended.

Public Comment

Catherine Tymkow, Faculty, CHHS – Professor Tymkow provided her remarks, noting that she has worked with many, if not all, of the tenure candidates and they are a dedicated, capable, thoughtful group. She is proud to have them as colleagues.

William Kresse, Faculty, COB – Professor Kresse provided his remarks, stating that the roster of faculty members up for tenure is an outstanding group.

Rashidah Muhammad, Faculty, CAS – Professor Muhammad provided her remarks, echoing her colleagues' comments and congratulating those earning tenure.

Approval of Minutes

Chair Cevallos-Candau asked for motion to approve the minutes of the November 15, 2019 and February 7, 2020 meetings of the Human Resources Committee. Trustee Harrell motioned. Trustee Kvedaras seconded. The minutes were approved via a unanimous voice vote.

Information Item

Chair Cevallos-Candau asked Provost Beth Cada to present the Study Session on Tenure. Provost Cada introduced Associate Provost Rosemary Johnsen and the two of them reviewed the GSU tenure process.

Action Items

Chair Cevallos-Candau asked for a motion to approve resolution 20-41, consideration and possible recommendation regarding approval of tenure as of August 16, 2020. Trustee Harrell motioned. Trustee Kvedaras seconded. Provost Beth Cada presented the tenure candidates: Amanda Athon, Alli Cipra, Erin Grey-Avis, Katy Hisrich, Megan McCaffrey, Cynthia Romanowski, K. G. Sanjaya Ranmohotti, Lara Stache, and Chelsea Vanderpool. The motion passed unanimously on a voice vote and the resolution will be recommended to the full board.

Executive Session

Chair Cevallos-Candau asked for a motion to go into executive session pursuant to Section 2(c)(1) and (11) of the Open Meetings Act to discuss personnel and potential litigation matters. Trustee Kvedaras motioned. Trustee Harrell seconded. The motion passed unanimously on a roll call vote. The committee moved into executive session at 4:08pm.

At approximately 4:50pm, Trustee Kvedaras motioned that the committee return from executive session. Trustee Harrell seconded and the motion passed unanimously on a voice vote.

The committee returned to open session at approximately 4:54pm. There being no old or new business, the meeting adjourned at 4:55pm with a motion from Trustee Kvedaras and a second from Trustee Harrell. The motion was approved by unanimous voice vote.

Respectfully submitted, Penny Perdue Recording Secretary